30 x 30 Power In Nature: Protecting California Together

power in nature: 30 x 30 CA


Regional Groups

Power In Nature is a statewide coalition of over 100 community groups, environmental and conservation organizations, land trusts, Indigenous organizations and Tribal members dedicated to protecting 30% of California’s lands and coastal waters by 2030.

Far Northern

The Far North region consists of Lake, Mendocino, Humboldt, Trinity, Siskiyou, Del Norte, and portions of Shasta, Siskiyou and Modoc counties, and includes over 5.6 million acres of some of California’s most spectacular public lands and waters that are vital to protecting the unique biodiversity and ecosystems found only here.

Important links:

Protect Sáttítla

Bay Area

The Bay Area region includes nine counties that border the estuary of the San Francisco Bay, San Pablo Bay, and Suisun Bay and reach across Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, Sonoma, and San Francisco. This region boasts wetlands and coastlines, mountain peaks and oak woodlands, redwood forests, flowing rivers, and a diverse community that prioritizes the conservation and restoration of the natural environment and the wildlife that call the area home.

San Joaquin Valley

Situated between California’s Central Coast and the Sierra Nevada, the San Joaquin Valley region spans eight California counties. Once covered by vast wetlands, Valley Oak savannahs, and desert shrublands, it is now the most productive agricultural region in the U.S. But that has come with an environmental cost to nature and humans. Now the area faces the necessary retirement of up to a million acres of farmland, with the opportunity to restore the land, support wildlife and bring justice to the peoples of the Valley.

Sierra Nevada

Covering nearly 30 million acres, the varied habitats of the Sierra Nevada region host a majority of the state’s biodiversity and play a crucial role in California’s water system and natural carbon sequestration. The Sierra Nevada 30×30 Regional Group is committed to conserving and restoring the extraordinary natural resources and communities of the Sierra.

Important links: TakeCareSierra.org

Central Coast

The Central Coast Region is a critically valuable area of California, consisting of Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, San Benito, Monterey and Santa Cruz Counties. The Central Coast is largely rural with significant biodiversity. However, the region is under major threat from Climate Change, urban development and fragmentation of wildlife habitat.

Important Links:

Inland Deserts

Protecting California’s deserts is critical to the state’s past, present and future. As some of the most geographically vast and ecologically diverse areas of California, they are part of the most intact ecosystem in the lower 48 states and are incredibly valuable to plants, wildlife, and people. Protecting California’s deserts is essential to the success of our efforts to address the climate and biodiversity crisis, protecting 30% of lands and waters by 2030.

Important Links:

The 30×30 Southland region includes all of Ventura, Los Angeles, and Orange Counties, and the western portions of San Bernardino and Riverside Counties. This region is home to not only 18 million residents, but also some of the state’s most biologically diverse landscapes on the planet. The diversity stems from the geology, topography, climate, ocean influence, and the gift of time allowing for the evolution of plant and animal species. Regional priorities reflect the diversity of places, projects, and people.

Important links:



San Diego

The 30×30 San Diego Region consists of San Diego County. Home to more than 200 threatened plants and animals, San Diego County contains more imperiled species than any other county in the country. Protecting San Diego’s natural areas is critical to safeguarding biodiversity and fighting climate change on a local and international scale – and to achieving the California 30×30 goal.

Important Links: