San Joaquin Valley

Situated between California’s Central Coast and the Sierra Nevada, the San Joaquin Valley region spans eight California counties, including Kings, Merced, San Joaquin, and Stanislaus, and the western half of Fresno, Kern, Madera, and Tulare. Once covered by vast wetlands, it is now the most productive agricultural region in the U.S. The area’s remaining wetlands are an integral part of the Pacific Flyway, and an important focus for 30×30 conservation and restoration along with urban greening to advance environmental justice.

San Joaquin Kit Fox
 Denise Kadara

Regional Lead

During these racial equity times having 30×30 bring together voices of the underserved communities is critical and especially at the beginning stages of this process to help establish plans and projects that mutually benefit people and nature. Allensworth in SW Tulare County on the old shoreline of Tulare Lake has been missing from these efforts and a seat at the table is important to achieving regional resiliency in the face of climate change. We are excited to participate in this endeavor and share the valuable history with California.”

Denise Kadara

President, Allensworth Progressive Association